Institute Scholars



Fernanda Arruda

Psychology
Mentor: Monica Roselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Mild cognitive impairment and dementia
farruda2016@fau.edu

David Cinalli

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and Memory/Behavioral neuroscience
dcinalli2013@fau.edu
 

James A. Clark

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
jamesclark2016@fau.edu
 
 

Courtney Cocilova

Ex-Officio
Post-Doc Spring 2017
Integrative Biology
Mentor: Sarah Milton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Toxicology, Marine conservation, Pharmacology, Animal physiology
cocilov@fau.edu
 

Bryan Conklin

Position: President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: In search of an objective measure of visual working memory
bconkli4@fau.edu

Dustin Cox

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Sang Hong, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Visual perception, Visual awareness, Multisensory integration
dcox2013@fau.edu
 
 
 

Debarshi Datta

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Howard Hock, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Object recognition
ddatta2014@fau.edu

Julieta DiMase

Biological Sciences
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuroprotection after anoxia
Jdimase2@fau.edu
 

Aritra Ghosh

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Shihong Huang, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Self adaptive system of brain
aghosh2016@fau.edu
 
 

Ingo Gotthard

Position: Membership Coordinator
Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuronal circuit impairments in autism mouse model
Ingo.gotthard@mpfi.org
 

Timothy Holford

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of interneurons in autism spectrum disorders
holfordt2014@fau.edu

Samantha Inguanzo

Position: Secretary of Neuroscience Student Organization
Bioengineering
Mentor: Zvi Roth
Thesis topic: Heat shock proteins, Alzheimers disease & adaptive cellular response systems
singuan1@fau.edu
 
 
 

Mohammed Islam

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
mislam19@fau.edu

Ciny John

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
cjohn4@fau.edu
 

Karlis (KJ )Justs

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Gregory Macleod, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Synaptic transmission
kjusts@fau.edu
 
 

Stephanie Kelly

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Assessing locomotion and surival of Drosophila melanogaster in an age-related hypoxia tolerance assay.
skelly44@fau.edu
 

Daniel Lacombe

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Machine learning
dlacombe2013@fau.edu

Joan Lora

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Spatial navigation and the genetics of head direction cells
jlora@fau.edu
 
 
 

Michael Mannino

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: On the nature of causality in large scale brain networks
mmannino2012@fau.edu

Mariel Manuel

Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
Mentor: To Come
Thesis topic: TBD
mmanuel5@fau.edu
 

Maykah Marshall

Bioengineering
Mentor: Zvi Roth, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Robotics
mmarsh20@fau.edu
 
 

Brittnee McDole

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Kathleen Guthrie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Adult neurogenesis and neurotrophic factors
Bmcdole@fau.edu
 

Janet Menzie

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Jang-Yen Wu, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuroprotection
jmenzie@fau.edu

Neymi Mignocchi

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Hyungbae Kwon, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD -
nmignocchi2014@fau.edu
 
 
 

Keith Murphy

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: William Ja, Ph.D. & Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Circuit basis of sleep and feeding behavior
kmurph51@fau.edu

Amanda Nephew

Exercise Science and Health Promotion
Mentor: Michael Zourdos, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Effect of mindfulness based stress relief on male combat vertans with PTSD
anephew@fau.edu
 

Marvin (Forest) Norman

Position: Community Relations Officer of Neuroscience Student Organization
Psychology
Mentor: Monica Roselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuropsych
normanm2015@fau.edu
 
 

Emir Penserga

Position: Treasurer
Integrative Biology
Mentor: Tanja Godenschwege, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of the Amyloid Precursor Protein (APP) in regulating axonal transport
epenserg@fau.edu
 

Subhosit Ray

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Tanja Godenschwege, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Role of E3 Ubiquitin Ligase in Axon Development, Axonal Trafficking
rays2016@fau.edu

Claire Rice Kuchera

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D., Learning & Memory
Ckuchera@fau.edu
 
 
 

Monica Risley

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Seizure and epilepsy
mrisley2012@fau.edu

Darwin Romulus

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Eye movements and face processing in the context of familiarity
dromulus2016@fau.edu
 

Nathaniel Shanok

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Nancy Jones, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Assessing children on the facial emotion recognition using familiar and unfamiliar faces: An autism study
nshanok@fau.edu
 
 

Youngseon Shin

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Summer Sheremata, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
yshin2016@fau.edu
 

Shweta Singh

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Development of central nervous system in Drosophila.
ssingh34@fau.edu

Vahid Tayefeh

Physics
Mentor: Armin Fuchs, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neural field dynamics
vtayefeh@fau.edu
 
 
 

Tatiana Viena

Position: Vice President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Robert Vertes, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Behavioral neuroscience
Tviena@fau.edu

Ke Zhang

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Jason Christie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and memory
kzhang2016@fau.edu
 

Mengsen Zhang

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Scott Kelso, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Behavioral and neural activity during social coordination
zhang@ccs.fau.edu