Institute Scholars



Fernanda Arruda

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Monica Roselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Mild cognitive impairment and dementia
farruda2016@fau.edu
Kerriann Badal

Kerriann Badal

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Dr. Sathya Puthanveetil
Thesis topic: Identifying modifications in Aplysia californica axonal transport during learning and memory.
kbadal2@fau.edu
David Bradshaw

David Bradshaw

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Peter J. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Effects of Natural and Anthropogenic Impacts on the Microbiome of the Indian River Lagoon, FL
dbradshaw2015@fau.edu

David Cinalli

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and Memory/Behavioral neuroscience
dcinalli2013@fau.edu

James A. Clark

Position: Membership Coordinator of Neuroscience Student Organization
Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neural Networks and Image identification and classification in the Machine Perception and Cognitive Robotics
jamesclark2016@fau.edu

Bryan Conklin

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: In search of an objective measure of visual working memory
bconkli4@fau.edu

Dustin Cox

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Sang Hong, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Visual perception, Visual awareness, Multisensory integration
dcox2013@fau.edu

Debarshi Datta

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Howard Hock, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Object recognition
ddatta2014@fau.edu


Julieta DiMase

Position: Treasurer of Neuroscience Student Organization
Biological Sciences
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuroprotection after anoxia
Jdimase2@fau.edu
Jessica Dolan

Jessica Dolan

Psychology
Mentor: Nancy Jones, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: TBD
jdolan2018@fau.edu
Brian Escobar

Brian Escobar

GNTP
Mentor: GNTP
Thesis topic: TBD
bescobar2018@fau.edu

Aritra Ghosh

Computer Science
Mentor: Shihong Huang, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Self-adaptive System with Human-in-the loop
aghosh2016@fau.edu

Ingo Gotthard

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuronal circuit impairments in autism mouse model
Ingo.gotthard@mpfi.org

Brandon Hindman

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Dr. Robert Stackman, PhD.
Thesis topic: Novel object memory, Dopamine, Behavioral Neuroscience bhindman2017@fau.edu

Timothy Holford

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of interneurons in autism spectrum disorders
holfordt2014@fau.edu

Samantha Inguanzo

Position: Vice President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Bioengineering
Mentor: Zvi Roth, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Heat shock proteins, Alzheimers disease & adaptive cellular response systems
singuan1@fau.edu

Mohammed Islam

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
mislam19@fau.edu

Ciny John

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Grooming behavior mediated by noxious stimuli in Drosophila melanogaster
cjohn4@fau.edu

Karlis (KJ )Justs

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Gregory Macleod, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Synaptic transmission
kjusts@fau.edu

Stephanie Kelly

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Assessing locomotion and surival of Drosophila melanogaster in an age-related hypoxia tolerance assay.
skelly44@fau.edu
Basak Kocaoglu

Basak Kocaoglu

GNTP
Mentor: GNTP
Thesis topic: TBD
bkocaoglu2018@fau.edu

Sarah Kruessel

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Hyungbae Kwon, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
skrussel2017@fau.edu

Kenton Macdowell

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Functional brain networks for processing emotional content, and how they differ between clinically normal individuals and those with deficits in emotional processing.
Kmacdowell2013@fau.edu

Michael Mannino

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: On the nature of causality in large scale brain networks
mmannino2012@fau.edu

Maykah Marshall

Bioengineering
Mentor: Zvi Roth, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Robotics
mmarsh20@fau.edu
Richard Matic

Richard Matic

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Andrzej Nowak, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: A Computer Simulation of Human Personality with Inputs of Psychometric Data from Computer Analysis of Digital Sources.
rmatic2018@fau.edu

Brittnee McDole

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Kathleen Guthrie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Adult neurogenesis and neurotrophic factors
Bmcdole@fau.edu

Samantha McGovern

Biological Sciences
Mentor: Randy Blakely, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neurobiology of the Orphan Metallo â-lactamase MBLAC1
Smcgovern2018@fau.edu

Neymi Mignocchi

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Hyungbae Kwon, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Labeling oxytocin sensitive neuronal populations of social rewarding pathways 
nmignocchi2014@fau.edu
Akshay Naraine

Akshay Naraine

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Dr. Ken Dawson-Scully
Thesis Topic: The effect of oxidative stress on Drosophila neuromuscular junctions
narainea2018@fau.edu

Amanda Nephew

Exercise Science and Health Promotion
Mentor: Michael Zourdos, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Effect of mindfulness based stress relief on male combat vertans with PTSD
anephew@fau.edu

Asal Nouri

GNTP
Mentor: GNTP
Thesis topic: TBD
anouri2015@fau.edu
Alexandra Paz

Alexandra Paz

GNTP
Mentor: GNTP
Thesis topic: TBD
paza2018@fau.edu
Gabriel Pena

Gabriel Pena

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Kathleen Guthrie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
gpena7@fau.edu

Emir (Tyrone) Penserga

Position: President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Integrative Biology
Mentor: Tanja Godenschwege, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of the Amyloid Precursor Protein (APP) in regulating axonal transport
epenserg@fau.edu

Subhosit Ray

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Tanja Godenschwege, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Role of E3 Ubiquitin Ligase in Axon Development, Axonal Trafficking
rays2016@fau.edu

Tahereh Rezaei

Physics
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
trezaei2016@fau.edu

Claire Rice 

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Learning & Memory
ckuchera@fau.edu

Peter Rodriguez

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Randy Blakely, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Glial regulation of dopamine neuron viability and signaling in Caenorhabditis elegans prodri29@health.fau.edu

Darwin Romulus

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Eye movements and face processing in the context of familiarity
dromulus2016@fau.edu

Nathaniel Shanok

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Nancy Jones, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Assessing children on the facial emotion recognition using familiar and unfamiliar faces: An autism study
nshanok@fau.edu
Youngseon Shin

Youngseon Shin

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Summer Sheremata, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Individual difference in working memory capacity and how it leads to different processes.
yshin2016@fau.edu
Morgan Slevin

Morgan Slevin

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Rindy Anderson, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: TBD
mslevin2018@fau.edu

Serena Sossi

Position: Secretary of Neuroscience Student Organization
Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Lucia Carvelli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Epigenetic effects of amphetamine in dopamine transporter regulation: insights from c. elegans.
serenasossi@fau.edu
Rachel St. Clair

Rachel St. Clair

Graduate Neuroscience Training Program
Mentor: GNTP
Thesis topic: TBD
Rstclair2012@fau.edu

Emily Stark

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Deep Learning Applications in Robotic Olfaction
Estark2017@fau.edu
Ye Sun

Ye Sun

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Ryohei Yasuda, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: ultrastructure of dendritic spines during long-term potentiation
ysun2014@fau.edu
Clara Tepohl

Clara Tepohl

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: David Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Synaptic basis of binocular integration
ctepohl2018@fau.edu

Tatiana Viena

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Robert Vertes, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Behavioral neuroscience
Tviena@fau.edu
Yosun Yoon

Yosun Yoon

GNTP
Mentor: GNTP
Thesis Topic: Visual Perception, Attention.
yyoon2018@fau.edu

Ke Zhang

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Jason Christie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and memory
kzhang2016@fau.edu

Mengsen Zhang

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Scott Kelso, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Behavioral and neural activity during social coordination
zhang@ccs.fau.edu