Institute Scholars



Fernanda Arruda, MA

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: MA Psychology
Thesis advisor: Monica Roselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Mild cognitive impairment and dementia
farruda2016@fau.edu

David Cinalli

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and Memory/Behavioral Neuroscience
dcinalli2013@fau.edu
 

James A. Clark

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis advisor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
jamesclark2016@fau.edu
 
 

Courtney Cocilova, Ph.D.

Ex-Officio
Post-Doc Spring 2017
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Sarah Milton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Toxicology, Marine Conservation, Pharmacology, Animal Physiology
cocilov@fau.edu
 

Bryan Conklin

Position: President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis advisor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: In search of an objective measure of visual working memory
bconkli4@fau.edu

Dustin Cox

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Sang Hong, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Visual Perception, Visual Awareness, Multisensory Integration
dcox2013@fau.edu
 
 
 

Debarshi Datta

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Howard Hock, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Object recognition
ddatta2014@fau.edu

Julieta DiMase

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: M.S., Biological Sciences
Thesis advisor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuroprotection after anoxia
Jdimase2@fau.edu
 

Aritra Ghosh

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: Shihong Huang, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Self Adaptive System of Brain
aghosh2016@fau.edu
 
 

Ingo Gotthard

Position: Membership Coordinator
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuronal circuit impairments in autism mouse model
Ingo.gotthard@mpfi.org
 

William Hahn, Ph.D.

Ex-Officio
Post-Doc Fall 2016
Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis Advisor: Graduated Fall 2016
whahn@fau.edu

Timothy Holford

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of interneurons in autism spectrum disorders
holfordt2014@fau.edu
 
 
 

Samantha Inguanzo

Position: Secretary of Neuroscience Student Organization
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: M.S., Bioengineering
Thesis advisor: Zvi Roth, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: "Heat Shock Proteins, Alzheimers disease & Adaptive Cellular Response Systems"
singuan1@fau.edu

Mohammed Islam

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
mislam19@fau.edu
 

Ciny John

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
cjohn4@fau.edu
 
 

Daniel Lacombe

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Machine Learning
dlacombe2013@fau.edu
 

Joan Lora

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Spatial navigation and the genetics of head direction cells
jlora@fau.edu

Michael Mannino

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis advisor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
mmannino2012@fau.edu
 
 
 

Maykah Marshall

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: M.S., Bioengineering
Thesis advisor: Zvi Roth, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Robotics
mmarsh20@fau.edu

Brittnee McDole

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Kathleen Guthrie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Adult neurogenesis and Neurotrophic factors
Bmcdole@fau.edu
 

Janet Menzie

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Jang-Yen Wu, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuroprotection
jmenzie@fau.edu
 
 

Neymi Mignocchi

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: Hyungbae Kwon, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD -
nmignocchi2014@fau.edu
 

Keith Murphy

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: William Ja, Ph.D. & Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Circuit basis of sleep and feeding behavior
kmurph51@fau.edu

Amanda Nephew

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: M.S., Exercise Science and Health Promotion
Thesis advisor: Michael Zourdos, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Effect of mindfulness based stress relief on male combat vertans with PTSD
anephew@fau.edu
 
 
 

Marvin (Forest) Norman

Position: Community Relations Officer of Neuroscience Student Organization
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: M.A. Psychology
Thesis advisor: Monica Roselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuropsych
normanm2015@fau.edu

Emir Penserga

Position: Treasurer
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Tanja Godenschwege, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of the Amyloid Precursor Protein (APP) in regulating axonal transport
epenserg@fau.edu
 

Subhosit Ray

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: Tanja Godenschwege, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Role of E3 Ubiquitin Ligase in Axon Development, Axonal Trafficking
rays2016@fau.edu
 
 

Claire Rice Kuchera

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D. Jr.,Learning & Memory
Ckuchera@fau.edu
 

Monica Risley

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Thesis advisor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Seizure and epilepsy
mrisley2012@fau.edu

Darwin Romulus

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis topic: TBD
dromulus2016@fau.edu
 
 
 

Nathaniel Shanok

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Experimental Psychology
Thesis advisor: Nancy Jones, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
nshanok@fau.edu

Youngseon Shin

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis topic: TBD
yshin2016@fau.edu
 

Shweta Singh

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Development of central nervous system in Drosophila.
ssingh34@fau.edu
 
 

Vahid Tayefeh

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Physics
Thesis advisor: Armin Fuchs, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neural Field Dynamics
vtayefeh@fau.edu
 

Tatiana Viena

Position: Vice President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis advisor: Robert Vertes, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Behavioral neuroscience
Tviena@fau.edu

Ke Zhang

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Integrative Biology
Thesis advisor: Jason Christie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and memory
kzhang2016@fau.edu
 
 
 

Mengsen Zhang

Degree and Program Name Pursuing: Ph.D., Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Thesis advisor: Scott Kelso, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Behavioral and neural activity during social coordination
zhang@ccs.fau.edu